Last night I had dinner with three of the printmakers that I met in Florence at Il Bisonte 6 years ago for a little reunion.   Amy, who lives in Idaho, was in San Francisco for a project of her Masters program.  We met in Belmont with Ginger and Shannon and had a great time catching up with what we’ve been working on.  It occured to me that each one of these women has continued to reach beyond themselves to learn new techniques, experiment, challenge themselves and sometime make sacrifices for their artistic vision.  There was a lot of energy circulating at that table.  Before the evening ended we agreed to have a mini-monotype marathon and have a print exchange between the 4 of us when done.

One of the things that we talked about was mixing media with prints.  I related how I was often successful using pastel over a monoprint and when I got home I emailed each of them an image of a painting that I felt was a good example of that technique.  The title is “Float”, pastel over monotype on Rives BFK paper, matted and framed, priced at $275.

